The Hugo Awards

2016 Hugo Award Winners and 2016 Hugo Final Statistics

The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (“Worldcon”), which is also responsible for administering them.

201608.hugo.2016.byFredTeifeld 2016 Hugo Photo by Fred Teifeld

The Hugo Awards voting process has two stages: a nomination period and a final voting period. During the nomination period ballots may be cast by members of the current and following years’ Worldcons (as of January 31) and members from the previous year’s Worldcon. After the nomination period closes, only members of the current Worldcon are eligible to vote on the final ballot.

Questions about the Hugo Awards? Email

The three main types of Hugo Award categories are:

  • Individual works (for example, a single book or film).
  • People, for work done in the year of eligibility (for example Best Professional Artist) Only people who have produced eligible work in the year of eligibility qualify.
  • Serial publications, for the entire run of that publication in the year of eligibility rather than for a single issue (for example Best Fanzine).

The Hugo Winners of 2012 at Chicon 7. Photo credit Keith Stokes, MidAmerican Fan Photo Archive

Hugo Finalist Announcement was April 26!

The finalists for the 2016 Hugo Awards, 2016 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards were announced on Tuesday, April 26. Science fiction fans around the world  followed the announcement live via MidAmeriCon II’s social media, and celebrated the authors, editors, artists, and works that have been selected as the best of 2015. 

1941 RetroHugo Award Winners

1941 Retro Hugo Award Finalists and the 2016 Hugo Award Finalists

Over 4,000 nominating ballots were received for the 2016 Hugo Awards, nearly doubling the previous record of 2,122 ballots set last year by Sasquan, the 73rd Worldcon held in Spokane, WA. 

The final ballot to select this year’s winners will open in May 15, 2016, and will be open to all Attending, Young Adult, and Supporting members of MidAmeriCon II. The winners of the 1941 Retro Hugo will be announced a Swing Dance on Thursday, August 18 and the winners of the 2016 Hugo will be announced on Saturday, August 20, at the MidAmeriCon II Hugo Awards Ceremony.