2016 Hugo Award Winners

Photo by Fred Teifeld

Photo by Fred Teifeld

MidAmeriCon II is delighted to announce the 2016 Hugo Award and John W. Campbell Award winners. 3,130 valid ballots were received and counted in the final ballot. A PDF is available of the 2016 Hugo Final Results

Best Novel: The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Best Novella: Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com)

Best Novelette: “Folding Beijing” by Hao Jingfang, translated Ken Liu (Uncanny Magazine, Jan-Feb 2015)

Best Short Story: “Cat Pictures Please” by Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld, January 2015)

Best Related Work: No Award

Best Graphic Story: The Sandman: Overture written by Neil Gaiman, art by J.H. Williams III (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): The Martian screenplay by Drew Goddard, directed by Ridley Scott (Scott Free Productions; Kinberg Genre; TSG Entertainment; 20th Century Fox)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): Jessica Jones: “AKA Smile” written by Scott Reynolds, Melissa Rosenberg, and Jamie King, directed by Michael Rymer (Marvel Television; ABC Studios; Tall Girls Productions; Netflix)

Best Editor – Short Form: Ellen Datlow

Best Editor – Long Form: Sheila E. Gilbert

Best Professional Artist: Abigail Larson

Best Semiprozine: Uncanny Magazine edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, and Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine: File 770 edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fancast: No Award

Best Fan Writer: Mike Glyer

Best Fan Artist: Steve Stiles

The John W. Campbell Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2014 or 2015, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award): Andy Weir

The 2016 Hugo Award winners were announced at a ceremony held at MidAmeriCon II on Saturday August 20th, 2014 in Kansas City, Missouri. The ceremony was hosted by Pat Cadigan and broadcast live via Ustream (link coming soon once it’s loaded online) with additional live text coverage via CoverItLive.