Kansas City Convention Center, Kansas City, MO | Wed to Sun, August 17-21, 2016.

Hugo Finalist Announcement!


The 2016 Hugo Award Finalists! and the 1941 Retro Hugo Award Finalists

The final ballot to select this year’s winners will open on May 15, 2016, and will be open to all Attending, Young Adult, and Supporting members of MidAmeriCon II.


Guest Blogs about the Hugo Awards, the Local Area and more!


To celebrate our upcoming Hugo Announcement on April 26, we are counting down the days with some amazing Guest Blogs!

  • Pat Cadigan on her first Worldcon
  • The Hugo Admins, Dave & Will about Hugo Participation
  • Ben Yalow on Hugo Rules
  • Deanna Sjolander on the Retro Hugos and Swing Dance party

Art Show Registration Open!

The Winter's Tale by Kinuko Craft

The Winter’s Tale by Kinuko Craft

We are thrilled to announce the opening of our Art Show Registration! The art show at MidAmeriCon II will feature works of art from internationally-renowned artists and new voices alike, in a range of styles including traditional media, digital art, photography, jewelry, and many more. Head over to sign up, read over the policies and get ready for a wonderful and amazing Art Show!

Guests of Honor

Kinuko Y. Craft
Patrick and Teresa Nielsen Hayden
Tamora Pierce
Michael Swanwick
Each Worldcon selects a small number of Guests of Honor for the highest recognition that the event can grant, essentially a Hall of Fame for the science fiction and fantasy field. MidAmeriCon II has chosen to honor Kinuko Y. Craft, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Teresa Nielsen Hayden, Tamora Pierce, and Michael Swanwick. All of our guests have made great contributions to the world of science fiction and fantasy and we are so pleased to be able to celebrate and honor these contributions with them in Kansas City. In addition to our Guests of Honor, our Toastmaster is the superb Pat Cadigan.